xingtwittersharerefreshplay-buttonpicture as pdfLogo_DPM_SCHRIFTZUGinstagram icon blackShapeGroup 3 Copy 2Group 2 Copydepartment_productdepartment_datascienceuserclosebasic clockblogShapearrows slim right copy 3arrows slim right copy 3arrows slim right copy 3

DieProduktMacher

Let there be light - experience products together with AR

Man aspires to expand. Already the first humans set off from Africa into the unknown to enlarge their living space. Thousands of years later, the seafarers of the Middle Ages sailed towards the distant horizon and today we are adding digital spaces to the physical world. While the earlier expansions of history were always in groups, AR applications are still perceived as experiences of the individual. Does it have to be this way?


Expanding the world together

Augmented Reality applications offer us the opportunity to expand our perspective on the real world through digital devices. We can project our facial expressions onto animated animal faces, display information about places of interest right next to them or even arrange our living room before we have even bought furniture.

However, these applications usually focus on the individual user, whereas a common exploration of digital space has rarely been possible so far. So how can we use this newly gained space together?


Breaking down barriers and creating hotspots

A special ability of Augmented Reality is that through it inaccessible things can be made accessible to everyone. Imagine ancient books full of history that you would never see, or even be allowed to pick up. With AR applications everyone has access to such treasures.

On the other hand, technology makes it possible for us to perceive the act of Community action in a whole new way: If I can only explore part of the wider reality with my own smartphone, why not see much more of the new world with other people?

Several users explore an AR product together.
Several users explore an AR product together.

From the technical point of view, this is not a problem at all. One defines a parameter that changes according to the number of available devices and depending on the application, the mass of participants can become essential for the goal of the respective AR application. So you can make things accessible, but make this dependent on acting as a group. What does this mean in concrete terms?

Bringing light into the darkness

Essentially, it is about acting together. The scenario for which we at DieProduktMacher have developed our prototype comes from the world of art. While there is only a black box on the wall, the user can discover a painting on the same spot with the help of a smartphone. The device serves as a light source, just like in the pre-electric times of the old ancestors. On their own, viewers can illuminate only a small part of the large-sized paintings at any one time, so they have to join forces with other users to make the light cone grow and finally make the painting appear completely.


Play

Off to new worlds

As we have seen, the possibilities for the use of multi-user AR applications are numerous. The main task now will be to find out in which further cases this digital collaboration tool can have a real added value for providers and users. In any case, the conditions for exploring augmented reality are set. Who will be taking the next step?


You have got the desire to do an AR project with us? We are looking forward to receiving your message!

Dear ProduktMacher,

Thanks for your message! We'll get back to you as soon as possible!

Something went wrong, please try again later!

Please fill in the captcha above.


Kunde
DieProduktMacher
Participants

3

Duration

2018

Plattform

iOS

Weitere Projekte & Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Produkte



facebook

Wird geladen…

twitter

Why #diversity matters in #product design? Buildin…

instagram

Wird geladen…

But First, Let's Have A Workshop
blog

But First, Let's Have A Workshop

xingtwittersharerefreshplay-buttonpicture as pdfLogo_DPM_SCHRIFTZUGinstagram icon blackShapeGroup 3 Copy 2Group 2 Copydepartment_productdepartment_datascienceuserclosebasic clockblogShapearrows slim right copy 3arrows slim right copy 3arrows slim right copy 3

Es werde Licht – Produkte mit AR gemeinsam erleben

Der Mensch strebt danach zu expandieren. Bereits die ersten Menschen sind aus Afrika ins Unbekannte aufgebrochen, um ihren Lebensraum zu erweitern. Jahrtausende später sind die Seefahrer des Mittelalters dem fernen Horizont entgegen gesegelt und heute erweitern wir die physische Welt durch digitale Räume. Während die früheren Expansionen der Geschichte immer in Gruppen stattfanden, werden AR-Anwendungen bis dato als Erlebnisse des Einzelnen wahrgenommen. Muss das so sein?

Kunde:
DieProduktMacher
-
Bereiche:
UXD, Tech

Gemeinsam die Welt erweitern

Augmented Reality-Anwendungen bieten uns die Möglichkeit durch digitale Geräte unsere Perspektive auf die reale Welt zu erweitern. Wir können unsere Mimik auf animierte Tiergesichter projizieren, können uns Informationen zu Sehenswürdigkeiten direkt neben diesen anzeigen lassen oder auch unser Wohnzimmer einrichten, bevor wir überhaupt Möbel gekauft haben.

Doch diese Anwendungen zielen meist auf den einzelnen Nutzer ab, während eine gemeinsame Erkundung des digitalen Raums bisher selten möglich ist. Wie können wir diesen neu gewonnenen Raum also zusammen nutzen?


Barrieren abbauen und Hotspots erschaffen

Eine besondere Fähigkeit der Augmented Reality ist es, dass durch sie unzugängliche Dinge für jedermann zugänglich gemacht werden können. Man stelle sich uralte, geschichtsträchtige Bücher vor, die man niemals zu Gesicht bekäme geschweige denn in die Hand nehmen dürfte. Mit AR-Anwendungen hat ein jeder Zugang zu solchen Schätzen.

Auf der anderen Seite macht es die Technologie möglich, dass wir den Akt des gemeinschaftlichen Handelns auf eine ganz neue Art und Weise wahrnehmen können: Wenn ich mit meinem eigenen Smartphone nur einen Teil der erweiterten Realität erkunden kann, wieso dann nicht mit anderen Leuten noch viel mehr von der neuen Welt sehen?

Play

Mehrere Nutzer erkunden gemeinsam ein AR-Produkt.


Aus technischer Sicht ist das gar kein Problem. Man bestimmt einen Parameter, der sich je nach Anzahl der vorhandenen Geräte verändert und je nach Einsatzzweck kann so die Masse der Teilnehmer entscheidend für das Ziel der jeweiligen AR-Anwendung werden. Man kann also Dinge zugänglich, dies aber vom Handeln als Gruppe abhängig machen. Was bedeutet das nun konkret?

Licht ins Dunkel bringen

Im Kern geht es darum gemeinsam zu handeln. Das Szenario für das wir bei DieProduktMacher unseren Prototypen entwickelt haben, kommt aus dem Feld der Kunst. Während sich an der Wand lediglich ein schwarzes Rechteck befindet, kann der Nutzer durch sein Smartphone ein Gemälde an eben jener Stelle entdecken. Das Device dient dabei als Lichtquelle, ganz wie in den vorelektrischen Zeiten der alten Meister. Alleine können die Betrachter aber immer nur einen kleinen Teil der großformatigen Bilder beleuchten, so dass sie sich mit anderen Nutzern zusammentun müssen, um den Lichtkegel wachsen und das Bild schließlich komplett erscheinen zu lassen.


Play

Auf zu neuen Welten

Die Möglichkeiten für den Einsatz von Multi-User-AR-Anwendungen sind wie wir sehen konnten vielfältig. Es wird nun vor allem darum gehen herauszufinden, in welchen weiteren Fällen dieses digitale Kollaborationswerkzeug einen echten Mehrwert für Anbieter und Nutzer haben kann. Die Voraussetzungen für die Erkundung der erweiterten Realität sind auf jeden Fall gemacht. Wer macht den nächsten Schritt?


Du hast Lust auf ein AR-Projekt mit uns bekommen? Wir freuen uns über deine Nachricht!

Liebe ProduktMacher,

Vielen Dank für dein Feedback!

Da ist wohl etwas schiefgelaufen, versuche es später bitte noch einmal


Kunde
DieProduktMacher
Projektbeteiligte

3

Zeitraum

2018

Plattform

iOS

Weitere Projekte & Produkte

Weitere Projekte & Produkte



Picture from our last Facebook Post
facebook

Der Kultur-Hackathon Coding da Vinci kommt in den …

twitter

Did you know it is possible to explore #AugmentedR…

Picture from our last Facebook Post
instagram

With our client & partner Chrono24 we developed an…

New member of the team: Peter
blog

New member of the team: Peter